We would love to stay in touch with you!

Enter your details to join our mailing list and we'll send you a link to exclusive content.

* indicates required
Close

Further Koobface Analysis

by Jago Maniscalchi  //  August 15, 2009  //  Exploits and Malware  //  1 Comment

How much information is available on those responsible for the koobface attack? One of the main attack servers – kukuruku-290709.com – is registered to Polev Andrei. This article looks for information on Andrei Polev using his name and e-mail address kuku.ruku.pam@gmail.com. Note the false address in Paris (Kuku Avenue).

Registrant:
    Polev Andrei        (kuku.ruku.pam@gmail.com)
    kuku av. 54 -10
    Paris,139123
    FR
    Tel. +001.41512345678

An Andrei Polev was also associated with other malware serving domains, such as freehostinternet.com and hostindianet.com.

Registrant:
         Andrei Polev andypolev@bestpanda.com +7.4963612199
         Krasnaya str. d.117 kv.119
         Solnechnogorsk,Moskovskaya,RUSSIAN FEDERATION 199538

koobface-solnechnogorsk

This address, pictured above, appears valid though on closer inspection 199xxx postcodes are for St. Petersburg, not Moscow.

WHOIS results for rabota2.info reveal the same address (this time with an invalid postcode) and a third e-mail address of europarks@pochta.ru.

Registrant ID:DI_8622071
Registrant Name:Polev Andrei
Registrant Street1:Krasnaia str., 117-119
Registrant City:Solnechnogorsk
Registrant Postal Code:23563
Registrant Country:RU
Registrant Phone:+7.45743255233
Registrant Email:europarks@pochta.ru

A further e-mail address is exposed courtesy of cheapestpharmacy.at.

personname:     Andrei Polev
street address: Krasnaya str. d.117 kv.119
postal code:    199538
city:           Solnechnogorsk
country:        Russland
phone:          +74963612199
e-mail:         andypolev@fishmedia.info

An old Koobface C&C server at zaebalinax.com reveals yet another e-mail address and variation on the name. The postcode is, again, not for Moscow, but for Lipetsk.

Registrant:
    Mir trud mai
    Aleksandr Polev        (krotreal@gmail.com)
    ul. Mira 32 - 90
    Moscow,398540
    RU
    Tel. +7.4954115553

A website, upr0306.com, hosted on the same server as zaebalinax.com is registered to an Andrej Polev.

Registrant:
    Andrej Polev
    Email: bigvillyxxx@gmail.com
    Address: Furshtatskaya ul. 25 - 65
    City: Moskva
    State: Moskva
    ZIP: 187523
    Country: RU
    Phone: +7.4953440978

The bigvillyxxx e-mail address leads to myfastfind.com, registered to Ivan Petrov with the samee-mail address.

Registrant:
    Ivan Petrov        (bigvillyxxx@gmail.com)
    Guglovskaya 21-90
    Moscow
    Moskovskaya oblast,167450
    RU
    Tel. +07.4951986709

A cached copy of irchackers.ru shows a user named krotreal leaving #icqhackers but back in 2003. The user is located in russia, but the DNS no longer resolves to an IP.

koobface-krotreal

While there are plenty of other references to a krotreal user (on flickr etc), none of them appear to have links to hacking or malware.

A series of postal addresses have been discovered, though all have inconsistencies indicating that they are invented or otherwise not genuine. A possible handle has been identified and a series of five e-mail addresses have been discovered.

kuku.ruku.pam@gmail.com
europarks@pochta.ru
andypolev@fishmedia.info
krotreal@gmail.com
bigvillyxxx@gmail.com

About the Author

Jago Maniscalchi is a Cyber security consultant, though he tries to avoid the word "Cyber" at all costs. He has spent 15 years working with Information Systems and has experience in website hosting, software engineering, infrastructure management, data analysis and security assessment. Jago lives in London with his family, enough pets to start a small zooalogical society, and a Samsung NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner. Despite an aptitude for learning computer languages, his repeated attempts to learn Italian have resulted in spectacular failure.

One Comment on "Further Koobface Analysis"

  1. Al October 13, 2009 at 507 ·

    Andrei Polev apparently owns the site http://www.vexmarc.com, here is whois.org results, so he also has email “elegy@blogbuddy.ru”:

    Arastirilan alan adi: vexmarc.com
    Ad / Name Andrei Polev
    Adres ul. Krasnaya d.117 kv.119 Solnechnogorsk Moskovskaya oblast 199538
    Tel +7.4963612199
    Faks +7.4963612199
    E-posta elegy@blogbuddy.ru
    Guncelleme / Updated

    Ad gizli
    Ad / Name Andrei Polev
    Adres ul. Krasnaya d.117 kv.119 Solnechnogorsk Moskovskaya oblast 199538
    Tel +7.4963612199
    Faks +7.4963612199
    E-posta elegy@blogbuddy.ru
    Guncelleme / Updated

    Ad gizli
    Ad / Name Andrei Polev
    Adres ul. Krasnaya d.117 kv.119 Solnechnogorsk Moskovskaya oblast 199538
    Tel +7.4963612199
    Faks +7.4963612199
    E-posta elegy@blogbuddy.ru
    Guncelleme / Updated

    Alan Adi Sunucusu1 / DNS1 ns.openhosting.ru
    Alan Adi Sunucusu1 IP / DNS1 IP
    Alan Adi Sunucusu2 / DNS2 ns2.openhosting.ru
    Alan Adi Sunucusu2 IP / DNS2 IP
    Son Guncelleme/ Last Updated
    Kayit Tarihi / Registration Date 2009-09-16
    SKT / Exp. Date 2010-09-16
    Statu Aktif

Leave a Comment

comm comm comm